Bill Evans Trio – I Will Say Goodbye (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


I Will Say Goodbye is an album by American jazz pianist Bill Evans, recorded in 1977 but not released until 1980.

“The title refers to the Michel Legrand piece performed twice on the date, and to the fact that pianist Bill Evans was on the verge of switching labels from Fantasy to Warner Bros. For his final Fantasy album, Evans, bassist Eddie Gómez, and drummer Eliot Zigmund perform memorable renditions of such songs as Herbie Hancock’s “Dolphin Dance,” Johnny Mandel’s “Seascape,” and Burt Bacharach’s underrated “A House Is Not a Home.” Fine post-bop music from an influential piano giant.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
I Will Say Goodbye” (Legrand) – 3:30
Dolphin Dance” (Herbie Hancock) – 6:04
Seascape” (Johnny Mandel) – 5:23
Peau Douce” (Steve Swallow) – 4:18
Nobody Else But Me” (Hammerstein II, Kern) – 5:06 Bonus track on CD reissue
I Will Say Goodbye” [Take 2] (Legrand) – 4:51
The Opener” (Bill Evans) – 6:13
Quiet Light” (Earl Zindars) – 2:29
A House Is Not a Home” (Bacharach, David) – 4:38
Orson’s Theme” (Legrand) – 3:47 Bonus track on CD reissue

Bill Evans – piano
Eddie Gómez – bass
Eliot Zigmund – drums


Released: 1980
Recorded: May 11–13, 1977
Studio Fantasy Studios, Berkeley
Length: 46:19
Label: Fantasy
F 9593
Producer: Helen Keane