Dizzy Gillespie – Live At The Village Vanguard

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Live at the Village Vanguard is a live album by American jazz trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie featuring performances recorded in 1967 at the Village Vanguard and originally released on three separate LPs on the Solid State label, one under the “Vanguard” title and as two volumes entitled Jazz for a Sunday Afternoon. The recordings were subsequently re-released in unedited form as a 2-CD set on the Blue Note label in 1993.

"Dizzy at his best . All of his co-workers did a wonderful job as well."

Track listing:

“Dizzy’s Blues” (Ahmad Salim) 14:30
“Blues For Max” (Dizzy Gillespie) 9:10
“Tour De Force” (Dizzy Gillespie) 9:45


Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone
Richard Davis – bass
Mel Lewis – drums
Chick Corea – piano
Garnet Brown – trombone (tracks: B2)
Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet
Ray Nance (tracks: A, B1) – violin


Released: 1967
Recorded: October 1, 1967
Village Vanguard, New York City
Label: Solid State
Producer: Sonny Lester