Dizzy Gillespie – An Electrifying Evening with the Dizzy Gillespie Quintet

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


An Electrifying Evening with the Dizzy Gillespie Quintet is a 1961 live album by trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie, recorded at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City.

“Dizzy Gillespie (along with altoist Leo Wright, pianist Lalo Schfrin, bassist Bob Cunningham, and drummer Chuck Lampkin) were in peak form for this live performance. Their versions of “Kush,” “Salt Peanuts,” and “The Mooche” are all excellent, but it is “A Night in Tunisia,” with its absolutely stunning trumpet break (which lasts half a chorus), that is most memorable.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Kush” (Dizzy Gillespie) – 11:01
“Salt Peanuts” (Kenny Clarke, Gillespie) – 7:08
“A Night in Tunisia” (Gillespie, Frank Paparelli) – 6:46
“The Mooche” (Duke Ellington, Irving Mills) – 11:43

Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet
Lalo Schifrin – piano
Chuck Lampkin – drums
Bob Cunningham – double bass
Leo Wright – alto saxophone, flute
Candido Camero – conga
Released: 1961
Recorded:February 9, 1961, Museum of Modern Art, New York City
Producer: Charles Shwartz