Dizzy Gillespie and Arturo Sandoval – To A Finland Station (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


To a Finland Station is an album by trumpeters Dizzy Gillespie and Arturo Sandoval recorded in 1982 and released on the Pablo label.

“This unique set finds Dizzy Gillespie (who was nearly age 65) sharing the frontline with the great Cuban trumpeter Arturo Sandoval. Backed by a fine Finnish rhythm section, Sandoval and the great trumpeter are both in good spirits playing five of Gillespie’s originals including “Wheatleigh Hall” and “And Then She Stopped.” Considering that it would be another decade before Sandoval was able to defect from Cuba (and finally play the music he wanted), this recording is of great historic value.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

Track listing:
All compositions by Dizzy Gillespie

“Wheatleigh Hall” – 8:12
“First Chance” – 6:12
“And Then She Stopped” – 9:17
“Rimsky” – 8:44
“Dizzy the Duck” – 12:07

Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet, Jew’s harp
Arturo Sandoval – trumpet
Esko Linnavalli – piano
Pekka Sarmanto – bass
Esko Rosnell – drums


Released: 1983
Recorded: September 9, 1982
Helsinki, Finland
Length: 44:32
Label: Pablo
Producer: Dizzy Gillespie