Dizzy Gillespie And His Sextets And Orchestra – Shaw ‘Nuff

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Those who only know Gillespie from his 1950s efforts onwards can have no conception as to the veritable force of nature his trumpet playing was in the 1940s. This CD collation of the earliest sides under his leadership, made for tiny labels such as Guild and Musicraft, will have your jaw sagging in amazement as he consistently delivers ideas that top even those of Parker. Just to keep it interesting, Gillespie also wrote some of the most enduring bop anthems, and many of them get their first outings here. These sessions, like the Parker Savoys, are the holy tablets of bop. ” (JazzWise).

Track listing:

1 Blue ‘N’ Boogie 2:52
2 Groovin’ High 2:38
3 Dizzy Atmosphere 2:45
4 All The Things You Are 2:44
5 Shaw ‘Nuff 2:57
6 Lover Man 3:20
7 Salt Peanuts 3:14
8 Hot House 3:06
9 Oop Bop Sh’bam 2:59
10 That’s Earl, Brother 2:38
11 One Bass Hit, No. 1 2:51
12 One Bass Hit, No. 2 2:52
13 Good Dues Blues 2:57
14 Our Delight 2:28
15 He Beeped When He Should Have Bopped 2:38
16 He Beeped When He Should Have Bopped 2:40
17 Things To Come 2:45
18 Ray’s Idea 2:21
19 Emanon 3:03
20 I Waited for You 3:03


Gillespie (t), Charlie Parker, Sonny Stitt (as), Dexter Gordon (ts), Clyde Hart, John Lewis, Frank Paparelli (p), Milt Jackson (vb), Chuck Wayne (g), Ray Brown, Curly Russell, Slam Stewart (b), Sid Catlett, Kenny Clarke, Cozy Cole, Shelly Manne (d) and Sarah Vaughan (v) plus many others.


Label: Musicraft – 1046-70053-2
Format: CD, Compilation, Reissue