Blue Mitchell – Graffiti Blues (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Graffiti Blues is an album by American trumpeter Blue Mitchell recorded in 1973 and released on the Mainstream label.

“The fourth of five Mainstream sets led by Blue Mitchell (which has been reissued on CD) finds the flexible hard bop trumpeter joined by a soulful and funky rhythm section (either Joe Sample or Walter Bishop Jr. on keyboards, guitarist Freddie Robinson, electric bassist Darrell Clayborn and drummer Ray Pounds) and tenor saxophonist Herman Riley. The group plays three straight funky blues, including the title cut which features Don Bailey on harmonica, as well as a couple of basic Sample originals and a Mitchell ballad feature on “Alone Again, Naturally.” Although not up to the same level as Blue Mitchell’s earlier Blue Note dates, this accessible set does a good job of balancing worthwhile solos with catchy rhythms and has dated surprisingly well.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Graffiti Blues” (Blue Mitchell) – 7:16
“Yeah Ya Right” (Herman Riley) – 5:29
“Express” (Blue Mitchell) – 5:06
“Asso-Kam” (Joe Sample) – 7:24
“Dorado” (Joe Sample) – 8:59

Blue Mitchell – trumpet
Don Bailey – harmonica
Herman Riley – flute, tenor saxophone
Freddy Robinson – guitar
Joe Sample – piano, electric piano
Walter Bishop, Jr. – piano
Darrell Clayborn – electric bass
Raymond Pounds – drums


Released: 1973
Recorded: March 1, 1973
Studio: The Record Plant, Los Angeles
Label: Mainstream
Producer: Bob Shad