Blue Mitchell – Big 6 (Full Album )

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Big 6 is the debut album by American trumpeter Blue Mitchell recorded in 1958 and released on the Riverside label. It contains the first recording of Benny Golson’s jazz standard “Blues March”.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 5 stars and stated ” Mitchell is heard in excellent form in an all-star sextet with trombonist Curtis Fuller, tenor great Johnny Griffin, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Wilbur Ware, and drummer Philly Joe Jones.”

Track listing:
1. “Blues March” (Benny Golson) 10:23
2. “Big Six” (William Boone Jr.) 6:42
3. “There Will Never Be Another You” (Mack Gordon, Harry Warren) 4:59
4. “Brother ‘Ball” (Blue Mitchell) 7:21
5. “Jamph” (Curtis Fuller) 3:46
6. “Sir John” (Blue Mitchell) 8:05
7. “Promenade” (Boone) 1:40
Recorded in New York City on July 2 & 3, 1958.

Blue Mitchell – trumpet
Curtis Fuller – trombone
Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
Wynton Kelly – piano
Wilbur Ware – bass
Philly Joe Jones – drums


Released: 1958
Recorded: July 2 & 3, 1958
Length: 42:56
Label: Riverside
Producer: Orrin Keepnews