Blue Mitchell – The Cup Bearers (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Cup Bearers is an album by American trumpeter Blue Mitchell recorded in 1962 and released on the Riverside label.

“Trumpeter Blue Mitchell and four-fifths of the Horace Silver Quintet (with Cedar Walton in Silver’s place) perform a variety of superior songs on The Cup Bearers, including Walton’s “Turquoise,” Tom McIntosh’s “Cup Bearers,” Thad Jones’ “Tiger Lily,” and a couple of standards. The music swings hard, mostly avoids sounding like a Horace Silver group, and has particularly strong solos from Mitchell, tenor saxophonist Junior Cook and Walton. Excellent hard bop.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Turquoise” (Cedar Walton) – 5:03
“Why Do I Love You?” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern) – 5:28
“Dingbat Blues” (Charles Davis) – 5:41
“Capers” (Tom McIntosh) – 6:04
“The Cup Bearers” (McIntosh) – 6:15
“How Deep Is the Ocean?” (Irving Berlin) – 6:43
“Tiger Lily” (Thad Jones) – 8:31
Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios in New York City on August 28 & 30, 1962

Blue Mitchell – trumpet
Junior Cook – tenor saxophone
Cedar Walton – piano
Gene Taylor – bass
Roy Brooks – drums


Released: 1962
Recorded: August 28 & 30, 1962
Length: 43:28
Label: Riverside
Producer: Orrin Keepnews