The Lucky Thompson Quartet – Lucky Strikes

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Lucky Strikes is an album led by saxophonist Lucky Thompson recorded in 1964 and released on the Prestige label.

AllMusic awarded the album 4½ stars with its review by Scott Yanow calling it, “a perfect introduction to the talents of the underrated saxophonist Lucky Thompson… the quality is quite high. Thompson’s soprano solos in particular are quite memorable”.

Track listing:
All compositions by Lucky Thompson except as noted

“In a Sentimental Mood” (Duke Ellington, Irving Mills) – 5:49
“Fly With the Wind” – 4:01
“Mid-Nite Oil” – 5:08
“Reminiscent” – 4:04
“Mumba Neua” – 4:47
“I Forgot to Remember” – 6:36
“Prey-Loot” – 4:05
“Invitation” (Bronisław Kaper) – 4:55

Lucky Thompson – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Hank Jones – piano
Richard Davis – bass
Connie Kay – drums


Released: 1965
Recorded: September 15, 1964
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Genre Jazz
Length: 39:25
Label: Prestige
PR 7365
Producer: Don Schlitten