Lucky Thompson & Barney Wilen – Four Brothers

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Previously unreleased studio concert from Hamburg in 1960, featuring four jazz saxophone legends: Lucky Thompson (ss/ ts), Barney Wilen (ss/ ts), Helmut Brandt (bars) and Bent Jaedig (ts), recorded with the quartet of Dr. Roland Kovac (p) in a unique workshop. Excellent blend of Modern, Bebop, Cool and Progressive: Eighty minutes of full ensemble pieces in a sound made famous by Giuffre`s “Four Brothers”, plus musical essays in small groups. Superb session produced by Hans Gertberg, mastered in 2015, including vintage cover artwork by designer Guenther Kieser.” – Sonorama Records.

Track listing:

This Here 6:20
Why Weep 3:50
Have A Light 4:02
Oleo 3:28
I Want To Be Happy 4:46
Jahrgang`37 7:00
Autumn Leaves 4:14
One Last Goodbye 4:58
Take The A Train 5:26
Düsseldorf Süd – Wuppertal West 4:24
Iris 4:16
I Surrender Dear 3:54
Easy 6:10
The Mysterioso Mr. X 5:14
Edith 4:06
Einsames Mädchen Am Meer 4:40


Lucky Thompson (soprano & tenor saxophone), Barney Wilen (soprano & tenor saxophone), Helmut Brandt (baritone saxophone), Bent Jaedig (tenor saxophone), with Roland Kovac (piano), Larry Atwell (guitar), Jürgen Ehlers (bass), Rudy Pronk (drums)


Released: July 23, 2015

Recorded: November 25, 1960 at Funkhaus Hamburg

Produced by Hans Gertberg