Sarah Vaughan – Sarah Vaughan with Michel Legrand

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Sarah Vaughan with Michel Legrand is a 1972 studio album by Sarah Vaughan, arranged by Michel Legrand.

“A meeting that worked better than anyone might expect. Vaughan was still her dynamic, charismatic vocal self, while Legrand didn’t obscure or dilute her singing, and also effectively supported her in his own way.” – Ron Wynn/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“The Summer Knows (Theme from Summer of ’42)” – 3:03
“What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?” – 3:56
“Once You’ve Been in Love” – 3:14
“Hands of Time (Brian’s Song)” – 3:06
“I Was Born in Love with You” – 3:08
“I Will Say Goodbye” – 2:11
“Summer Me, Winter Me” – 2:47
“His Eyes, Her Eyes” – 3:23
“Pieces of Dreams” – 3:08
“Blue, Green, Grey and Gone” – 4:15
“Wave” (Antônio Carlos Jobim) – 3:30
“Deep in the Night” (Helen Miller, Eve Merriam) – 3:18

All music composed by Michel Legrand, with all lyrics written by Alan and Marilyn Bergman, other writers noted.

Sarah Vaughan – vocals
Pete Christlieb, Bob Cooper, Bernard Fleischer, Bill Hood, Jerome Richardson, Bud Shank – flute, reeds (multiple)
Vincent DeRosa, Bill Hinshaw, Sinclair Lott, Dick Macker, Arthur Maebe, Richard Perissi, George Price, Ralph Pyle – French horn
Bobby Knight, Charles Loper, Grover Mitchell, George Roberts, Frank Rosolino, Lloyd Ulyate – trombone
Al Aarons, Gary Barone, Conte Candoli, Buddy Childers, Chuck Findley – trumpet
Tommy Johnson – tuba
Dave Grusin, Arthur Kane, Mike Wofford – keyboards
Larry Bunker – percussion
Tommy Tedesco – guitar
Chuck Rainey – bass guitar
Chuck Berghofer, Ray Brown, Bob Magnusson – double bass
John Guerin, Shelly Manne – drums
Michel Legrand – arranger, conductor, piano


Released: 1972
Recorded: April 17-20, 1972
Length: 54:43
Label: Mainstream
Producer: Bob Shad