Sarah Vaughan – In The Land Of Hi Fi (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


In the Land of Hi-Fi is a 1955 studio album by the American jazz singer Sarah Vaughan.

“In the Land of Hi-Fi is one of Sarah Vaughan’s best jazz dates for EmArcy. Accompanied by an all-star orchestra arranged by Ernie Wilkins and featuring altoist Cannonball Adderley (who was near the beginning of his career), the great singer is in superior form during these concise (around three minutes apiece) performances, particularly on “Soon,” “Cherokee,” “I’ll Never Smile Again,” and “An Occasional Man.” A strong session.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Over the Rainbow” (Harold Arlen, E.Y. “Yip” Harburg) – 3:30
“Soon” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 2:37
“Cherokee” (Ray Noble) – 2:32
“I’ll Never Smile Again” (Ruth Lowe) – 2:35
“Don’t Be on the Outside” (George Kelly, Mayme Watts, Sidney Wyche) – 3:01
“How High the Moon” (Morgan Lewis, Nancy Hamilton) – 2:36
“It Shouldn’t Happen to a Dream” (Duke Ellington, Don George, Johnny Hodges) – 3:20
“Sometimes I’m Happy” (Vincent Youmans, Irving Caesar) – 2:57
“Maybe” (G. Gershwin, I. Gershwin) – 2:34
“An Occasional Man” (Ralph Blane, Hugh Martin) – 2:33
“Why Can’t I?” (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 2:54
“Oh My” (Joe Greene) – 2:21

Sarah Vaughan – vocals

The Ernie Wilkins orchestra:
Ernie Royal, Bernie Glow – trumpet
Kai Winding, J. J. Johnson – trombones
Cannonball Adderley, Sam Marowitz – alto saxophone
Jerome Richardson – flute, tenor saxophone
Jimmy Jones – piano
Turk Van Lake – guitar
Joe Benjamin – double bass
Roy Haynes – drums
Ernie Wilkins – arranger, conductor


Released: 1955
Recorded: October 25-27, 1955
Length: 33:02
Label: EmArcy
Producer: Bob Shad