Sarah Vaughan – Sarah Vaughan (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Sarah Vaughan, sometimes incorrectly referred to as Sarah Vaughan with Clifford Brown, is a 1955 jazz album featuring Grammy Award-winning singer Sarah Vaughan and influential trumpeter Clifford Brown, released on the EmArcy label. It was the only collaboration between the pair. Well received, though not without some criticism, the album was Vaughan’s own favorite among her works through 1980. The album was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999.

The album has been re-released on CD and LP many times, with its original nine-track listing and with an additional track. In 2005, the album was reissued under the title Complete Recordings with Clifford Brown by Lone Hill Records with 18 tracks.

Track listing:
“Lullaby of Birdland” (George Shearing, George David Weiss) – 4:06
“April in Paris” (Vernon Duke, E.Y. “Yip” Harburg) – 6:26
“He’s My Guy” (Gene de Paul, Don Raye) – 4:17
“Jim” (Caesar Petrillo, Edward Ross, Nelson Shawn) – 5:56
“You’re Not the Kind” (Will Hudson, Irving Mills) – 4:48
“Embraceable You” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 4:54
“I’m Glad There Is You” (Jimmy Dorsey, Paul Mertz) – 5:14
“September Song” (Maxwell Anderson, Kurt Weill) – 5:50
“It’s Crazy” (Dorothy Fields, Richard Rodgers) – 5:01

Sarah Vaughan – vocals
Clifford Brown – trumpet
Paul Quinichette – tenor saxophone
Herbie Mann – flute
Jimmy Jones – piano
Joe Benjamin – bass
Roy Haynes – drums
Ernie Wilkins – conductor
John Malachi – piano (on Shulie a Bop)


Released: 1955
Recorded: December 18, 1954
Label: EmArcy
Producer: Bob Shad