Lee Morgan – City Lights (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


City Lights” is an album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan released on the Blue Note label in 1957 as BLP 1575.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4 stars, stating: “Trumpeter Lee Morgan (then 19) is in excellent form, holding his own with his impressive sidemen (trombonist Curtis Fuller, George Coleman on tenor and alto, pianist Ray Bryant, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Art Taylor). Highlights include ‘City Lights,’ ‘You’re Mine You’ and ‘Just By Myself.’ This fine session has been reissued as part of Lee Morgan’s four-CD Mosaic box set.”

Track listing:
“City Lights” (Golson) – 5:46
“Tempo de Waltz” (Golson) – 6:24
“You’re Mine You” (Green, Heyman) – 6:03
“Just by Myself” (Golson) – 9:24
“Kin Folks” (Gryce) – 9:42

Lee Morgan – trumpet
Curtis Fuller – trombone
George Coleman – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
Ray Bryant – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Art Taylor – drums

Recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ, August 25, 1957