Larry Young – Of Love And Peace

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Of Love and Peace is an album by organist Larry Young. It was recorded in 1966 and was released by Blue Note Records in 1967.

The Penguin Guide to Jazz described it as “a fine effort which takes a mostly obscure band through some fascinating ideas”. The AllMusic reviewer called it a “stimulating Blue Note date”.

Track listing:
“Pavanne” (Morton Gould) – 14:11
“Of Love and Peace” (Young) – 6:31
“Seven Steps to Heaven” (Miles Davis/Victor Feldman) – 10:17
“Falaq” (Young) – 10:09

Larry Young – organ
Eddie Gale – trumpet
James Spaulding – flute on “Of Love and Peace”, alto saxophone on remainder
Herbert Morgan – tenor saxophone
Wilson Moorman III – drums
Jerry Thomas – drums


Released: September 1967[1]
Recorded: July 28, 1966
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 41:08
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Alfred Lion