Larry Young – Young Blues (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Young Blues is the second album led by jazz organist Larry Young which was recorded in 1960 and released on the New Jazz label.

“Organist Larry Young’s second recording (cut shortly before he turned 20) is the best from his early period before he completely shook off the influence of Jimmy Smith. With guitarist Thornel Schwartz in top form, and bassist Wendell Marshall and drummer Jimmie Smith excellent in support, Young swings hard on a few recent jazz originals, some blues and two standards (“Little White Lies” and “Nica’s Dream”). Recommended as a good example of his pre-Blue Note work.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

(As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.)

Track listing:
“Young Blues” (Larry Young) – 6:28
“A Midnight Angel” (Morris Bailey) – 2:24
“African Blues” (Larry Young) – 4:55
“Little White Lies” (Walter Donaldson) – 4:15
“Minor Dream” (Ray Draper) – 5:03
“Something New/Something Blue” – 7:25
“Nica’s Dream” (Horace Silver) – 6:39

Larry Young – organ
Thornel Schwartz – guitar
Wendell Marshall – bass
Jimmie Smith – drums


Released: 1960
Recorded: September 30, 1960
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 37:09
Label: New Jazz
NJ 8264
Producer: Esmond Edwards

(As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.)