John Coltrane – Coltrane’s Sound

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Coltrane’s Sound is an album credited to jazz musician John Coltrane, recorded in 1960 and released in 1964 on Atlantic Records.

“This is one of the most highly underrated entries in Coltrane’s voluminous catalog. … These recordings remain among Trane’s finest.” – Lindsay Planer/AllMusic.



Track listing:
Side one
1. “The Night Has a Thousand Eyes” Buddy Bernier, Jerry Brainin  6:51
2. “Central Park West” John Coltrane 4:16
3. “Liberia” John Coltrane 6:53
Side two
1. “Body and Soul” Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green 5:40
2. “Equinox” John Coltrane 8:39
3. “Satellite” John Coltrane 5:59

John Coltrane — tenor saxophone on all except “Central Park West”, soprano saxophone on “Central Park West”
McCoy Tyner — piano except “Satellite”
Steve Davis — bass
Elvin Jones — drums


Released: Late June/early July 1964
Recorded: October 24 & 26, 1960
Studio: Atlantic (New York City)
Length 38:18 original LP
Label: Atlantic
SD 1419
Producer: Nesuhi Ertegun