Duke Ellington and His Orchestra – Masterpieces by Ellington

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Masterpieces by Ellington is the first LP album by American pianist, composer, and bandleader Duke Ellington, recorded for the Columbia label in 1950.

The AllMusic review by Bruce Eder awarded the album 4½ stars and stated: “For the first time in his recording career, Ellington was able to forego the three-minutes-and-change restrictions in running time of the 78-rpm disc — he and the band rose to the occasion.”



Track listing:
1. “Mood Indigo” 15:27
Duke EllingtonBarney BigardIrving Mills
2. “Sophisticated Lady” 11:29
EllingtonMillsMitchell Parish
3. “The Tattooed Bride” 11:43
4. “Solitude” 8:26
EllingtonMillsEddie DeLange

Bonus tracks on CD reissue

5. “Vagabonds” 3:11
EllingtonJuan TizolJohnny Burke
6. “Smada” 2:48
EllingtonBilly Strayhorn
7. “Rock Skippin’ at the Blue Note”

Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn – piano
Cat Anderson (tracks 1–4, 6 & 7), Shorty Baker, Mercer Ellington (tracks 1–4), Fats Ford (tracks 1–4), Ray Nance, Nelson Williams – trumpet
Lawrence Brown (tracks 1–4), Tyree Glenn (tracks 1–4), Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman (tracks 5–7) – trombone
Jimmy Hamilton – clarinet, tenor saxophone
Johnny Hodges (tracks 1–4), Willie Smith (tracks 5–7) – alto saxophone
Russell Procope – alto saxophone, clarinet
Paul Gonsalves – tenor saxophone
Harry Carney – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet (track 2)
Wendell Marshall – bass
Sonny Greer (tracks 1–4), Louis Bellson (tracks 5–7) – drums
Yvonne Lanauze – vocals[13]


Released: September 1951
Recorded: December 18, 1950
Bonus tracks August 7 & December 11, 1951
Length: 47:05
Label: Columbia