Duke Ellington Orchestra and Sarah Vaughan Trio – Live At The Berlin Philharmonic Hall (1969)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“These quite rare tracks show Sarah Vaughan in her prime (and still quite attractive, if I might add a small opinion),
scatting and mellow-singing with her trio, as well as a not so bad (but neither perfect nor perfectly presented) version of Duke Ellington’s orchestra,
featuring Russell Procope, Harry Carney, Paul Gonsalves and other giants, plus some bit younger but still mean cats (Harold Ashbey, Norris Turney)…
Maybe Cootie Williams is not up to the task on “Take the A Train” …, but Gonsalves-Ashby-Turney tenor sax battle is a riot(on “Triplicate”) and Duke is always a pure joy to watch and listen, conducting and leading his orchestra and the smaller outfits…” (from the Nikica Gilic’s comment on Amazon).

Set listing:

Duke Ellington And His Orchestra

  • Things Are Not What They Used To Be
  • Mood Indigo
  • Mack The Knife
  • Don’t Get Around Much Any More
  • Triplicate
  • Happy Reunion
  • Take The A Train Sarah

Duke Ellington And His Orchestra: Duke Ellington (piano, conductor), Russell Procope (clarinet), Harry Carney (bass clarinet), Money Johnson (vocals, trumpet), Paul Gonsalves, Harold Ashby, Norris Turney (tenor saxophones), Cootie Williams (trumpet).

Sarah Vaughan And Her Trio

  • Clear Day
  • ‘Scat’ Blues
  • Misty
  • I Cried For You
  • My Funny Valentine
  • All Of Me

Sarah Vaughan And Her Trio: Sarah Vaughan (vocals), Johnny Veith (piano), Gus Mancuso (bass), Eddy Pucci (drums).


Recorded at the Berliner Jazztage, 1969.