Coleman Hawkins – The Saxophone Section

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


This studio session finds the great Hawkins playing as part of a five-piece sax section. Actually the other saxophonists and part of the rhythm section were taken from the Count Basie Orchestra and outfitted with arrangements by Billy Ver Planck. They play a variety of little-known but swinging material; the logical charts and high-quality solos make this LP well worth acquiring (Scott Yanow, AllMusic).

Track listing:
0:00 – There Is Nothin’ Like A Dame  (Coleman Hawkins / Oscar Hammerstein II / Richard Rodgers)
3:53 – Ooga Dooga (Coleman Hawkins)
9:40 – Thanks For The Misery (Billy Ver Planck)
13:59 – At Evening At Papa Joe’s (F. Foster / Frank Wess)
22:08 – I’ve Grown Accustomed To Your Face (Alan Jay Lerner / Frederick Loewe)


  • Coleman Hawkins, Frank Foster – tenor saxophone
  • Frank Wess, Marshall Royal – alto Saxophone
  • Charlie Fowlkes – baritone saxophone
  • Eddie Jones – bass
  • Bobby Donaldson – drums
  • Freddie Green – guitar
  • Nat Pierce – piano


Release date: 1958

Label: World Wide

Catalog number:MGS 20001

Format: LP

Performed by Hawkins and the sax section of Count Basie’s orchestra.

This album was reissued as “Coleman Hawkins Meets the Big Sax Section” (Savoy Jazz 1979).