Count Basie – Chairman Of The Board (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Chairman of the Board is a 1959 studio album by Count Basie and his orchestra.

AllMusic Review by John Bush:
Although it appeared at a time when Count Basie was enjoying respect from all quarters (as evidenced by the pop acclaim of several Grammy awards and the jazz faithful’s enthusiasm for his concert at Newport), Chairman of the Board was, comparatively, a low-profile session. The record was surrounded in Basie’s discography by several prize-winners and a parade of studio collaborations — with vocalists Tony Bennett, Lambert, Hendricks & Ross, and Billy Eckstine, plus arranger Neal Hefti. This 1958 date for Roulette was a rare chance for the orchestra to perform on its own, and listeners to hear how powerful the band could be when its concentration was undiverted. Of course, Basie’s band already possessed three fine arrangers (Frank Foster, Thad Jones, and Frank Wess) and at least a dozen solo voices. Each of the ten songs on Chairman of the Board were originals by Foster, Jones, Wess, or Ernie Wilkins, all of them arranged by the composer. The record is admittedly heavy on the blues, but it’s a brassy, powerful vision of the blues; Foster’s “Blues in Hoss’ Flat” and Wilkins’ “Kansas City Shout” take the band back to its hometown, beginning with a subtle swing but ending with a raucous display of power from each section. The contributions by Jones and Wess provide a necessary complement to that forceful swing. Jones’ “Speaking of Sounds” employs the woodwinds to provide color and texture, while Wess’ “Segue in C” relies on bassist Eddie Jones and Basie’s piano to lead the band while Wess himself takes several choruses on alto sax. A dynamic date, it shows the “new testament” edition of Basie’s orchestra in top form (

Track listing:
“Blues in Hoss’ Flat” (Count Basie, Frank Foster) – 3:13
“H.R.H. (Her Royal Highness)” (Count Basie, Thad Jones) – 2:40
“Segue in C” (Frank Wess) – 6:15
“Kansas City Shout” (Henry Wells) – 3:34
“Speaking of Sounds” (Jo Jones) – 3:27
“TV Time” (Frank Foster) – 3:16
“Who, Me?” (Frank Foster) – 5:13
“The Deacon” (Thad Jones) – 4:50
“Half Moon Street” (Frank Wess) – 3:25
“Mutt & Jeff” (Thad Jones, Jack McDuff) – 3:39

Recorded at Universal Studios, Chicago on March 4, 1958 (Track 1 & 2) and Capital Studios, New York on April 28 (Track 7, 9, 12), April 29 (Track 4, 10, 11), December 10 (Track 5 & 8) and December 11 (Track 3 & 6), 1958.

The Count Basie Orchestra
Count Basie – piano
Frank Foster – arranger, tenor saxophone
Ernie Wilkins – arranger
Eddie Jones – double bass
Charlie Fowlkes – bass clarinet, baritone saxophone
Marshal Royal – clarinet, alto saxophone
Sonny Payne – drums
Frank Wess – flute, arranger, alto saxophone
Freddie Green – guitar
Billy Mitchell – tenor saxophone
Henry Coker – trombone
Al Grey – trombone
Benny Powell – trombone
Thad Jones – trumpet, arranger
Wendell Culley – trumpet
Joe Newman – trumpet
Snooky Young – trumpet


Released: April 18, 1959
Recorded: Recorded at Universal Studios, Chicago on March 4, April 28 & 29 andDecember 10 & 11, 1958
Universal Studios, Chicago and Capital Studios, New York
Length: 42:24
Label: Roulette
Producer: Teddy Reig