Count Basie & Billy Eckstine – Basie/Eckstine Incorporated (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Basie/Eckstine Incorporated is a 1959 studio album featuring Billy Eckstine and the Count Basie Orchestra.

Michael G. Nastos, writing for Allmusic, notes that :”It would be difficult to fault this masterpiece of an album, refined and classy in every detail, showing the Basie band and the immortal icon Eckstine at their absolute best during the very tail-end of an era when big-band swing was royal, and the vocalist was its king.”

Track listing:
“Stormy Monday Blues” (T-Bone Walker) – 3:11
“Lonesome Lover Blues” (Billy Eckstine, Gerald Valentine) – 3:08
“Blues, the Mother of Sin” (Eckstine, Sid Kuller) – 3:41
“Jelly, Jelly” (Eckstine, Earl Hines) – 3:02
“Don’t Cry Baby” (James P. Johnson, Saul Bernie, Stella Unger) – 3:31
“Trav’lin’ All Alone” (J. C. Johnson) – 2:54
“Little Mama” (Eckstine, Kuller) – 3:29
“I Want a Little Girl” (Billy Moll, Murray Mencher) – 3:25
“Drifting” (Charles Brown, Johnny Moore, Eddie Williams) – 3:59
“Song of the Wanderer” (Neil Moret) – 3:22
“Piano Man” (Eckstine, Kuller) – 4:04

Billy Eckstine – vocals
The Count Basie Orchestra:
Count Basie – piano
Marshal Royal – lead alto saxophone
Frank Wess – alto saxophone, flute
Frank Foster, Billy Mitchell – tenor saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes – baritone saxophone
Thad Jones, Wendell Culley, Joe Newman, Snooky Young – trumpet
Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell – trombone
Freddie Green – guitar
Eddie Jones – double bass
Sonny Payne – drums
Bobby Tucker – additional piano
Quincy Jones, Thad Jones & Bobby Tucker – arrangers


Recorded: May 22, 1959 – July 28, 1959
Length: 37:46
Label: Roulette Records (Cat. no. SR-52029)
Producer: Teddy Reig