Buck Clayton – Buck Meets Ruby / Mel Powell Septet (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Buck Meets Ruby is an album by trumpeters Buck Clayton and Ruby Braff which was recorded in 1954 and released on the Vanguard label originally as a four track 10-inch LP.

AllMusic Review by Ron Wynn:
W/ Ruby Braff (cnt), Mel Powell. A pair of spry, individualistic trumpet masters meet to a good end.

This is a 1975 reissue of 2 classic Vanguard 10 inches.

Track listing:

A1 ‘S Wonderful 0:00
A2 I Can’t Get Started 4:13
A3 Love Is Just Around The Corner 15:11
A4 I Must Have That Man 19:05
B1 Kandee 26:03
B2 Its Been So Long 33:57
B3 Just A Groove 37:42
B4 You re Lucky To Me 45:32


A1, A4, B2, B4:
Walter Page – bass
Edmond Hall – clarinet
Jimmy Crawford – drums
Steve Jordan – guitar
Mel Powell – piano
Henderson Chambers – trombone
Buck Clayton – trumpet

A2, A3, B1, B3:
Aaron Bell – bass
Bobby Donaldson – drums
Steve Jordan – guitar
Jimmy Jones – percussion
Buddy Tate – tenor saxophone
Benny Morton – trombone
Buck Clayton, Ruby Braff – trumpet


Buck Clayton & Ruby Braff ‎– Buck Meets Ruby
Vanguard ‎– VRS-8008

Mel Powell Sepet
Vanguard ‎– VRS-8004