Ruby Braff featuring Dave McKenna – Ruby Braff (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Ruby Braff and Dave McKennas two initial sessions together were as sidemen for other musicians – including a 1955 date with the Benny Goodman Septet. These dates were followed by the two incredible sessions included here. After that, the only known recordings of the Braff-McKenna partnership are a 1961 live recording at Eddie Condons with Bobby Hackett and Peanuts Hucko, and two 1991-93 double albums with a band including tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton. The session featured on this edition is, thus, their only true small group (quartet) recordings they made at the peak of their careers, in which both musicians can be considered session leaders.

Track listing:

A1 Dancing In The Dark
A2 Blue Prelude
A3 Why Was I Born?
A4 Blue (And Broken-Hearted)
A5 If I Could Be With You
A6 I’m Crazy ‘Bout My Baby

B1 Louisiana
B2 It’s Wonderful
B3 Almost Like Beeing In Love
B4 Lover Come Back To Me
B5 I Must Have That Man


Al Lucas – bass
Buzzy Drootin – drums
Dave McKenna – piano
Ruby Braff – trumpet


ABC-Paramount – ABC 141
Vinyl, LP, Mono
US 1956