Bill Evans – New Jazz Conceptions (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


New Jazz Conceptions is the debut album as leader by jazz musician Bill Evans, released in 1957 on Riverside Records.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Bill Evans’ debut as a leader found the 27-year-old pianist already sounding much different than the usual Bud Powell-influenced keyboardists of the time. Even in 1956 (more than a year before he joined the Miles Davis Sextet), Evans had his own chord voicings and a lyrical yet swinging style. Three selections here are taken solo (including the original version of his classic “Waltz for Debby”), while the other eight are performed in a trio with bassist Teddy Kotick and drummer Paul Motian (including his future theme “Five,” “Speak Low” and “No Cover, No Minimum”). A strong start to a significant career.

Track listing:
“I Love You” (Cole Porter) – 3:55
“Five” (Bill Evans) – 4:03
“I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)” (Duke Ellington, Paul Francis Webster) – 1:39
“Conception” (George Shearing) – 4:47
“Easy Living” (Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger) – 3:53
“Displacement” (Evans) – 2:36
“Speak Low” (Kurt Weill, Ogden Nash) – 5:10
“Waltz for Debby” (Evans, Gene Lees) – 1:20
“Our Delight” (Tadd Dameron) – 4:47
“My Romance” (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 2:01
“No Cover, No Minimum” [Take 1] (Evans) – 8:14 Not part of original LP
“No Cover, No Minimum” – 7:31

Bill Evans – piano
Teddy Kotick – bass
Paul Motian – rums

Released: End of February 1957
Recorded: September 18 and 27, 1956
New York City
Length 41:42
49:56 CD reissue
Label: Riverside
RLP 12-223
Producer: Bill Grauer, Orrin Keepnews