Bill Evans & Jeremy Steig – What’s New (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


What’s New is an album by jazz pianist Bill Evans, released in 1969.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
This LP has the debut of drummer Marty Morell with Bill Evans and bassist Eddie Gomez, and this particular trio would retain the same personnel for six productive years. Actually, this is a quartet set with guest flutist Jeremy Steig, whose playing recalls Herbie Mann’s recording (Nirvana) with Evans back in the early ’60s. Both flutists were always open to the influences of pop and rock, although in both of their collaborations with Evans, the music is very much on the pianist’s turf. With the exception of Evans’ “Time Out for Chris” and the “Spartacus Love Theme,” the songs performed on this date would fit securely in the Miles Davis repertoire of the late ’50s. Steig is in particularly fine form on the program which includes tunes such as “Straight No Chaser,” “Autumn Leaves,” and “So What.” (

Track listing:
Straight, No Chaser” (Thelonious Monk) – 5:40
Lover Man” (Jimmy Davis, James Sherman, Roger Ramirez) – 6:19
What’s New?” (Bob Haggart, Johnny Burke) – 4:50
Autumn Leaves” (Jacques Prévert, Joseph Kosma, Johnny Mercer) – 6:12
“Time Out for Chris” (Bill Evans) – 7:17
Spartacus Love Theme” (Alex North) – 4:58
So What” (Christopher Hall, Miles Davis) – 9:06

Bill Evans – piano
Eddie Gómez – bass
Marty Morell – drums
Jeremy Steig – flute


Released: 1969
Recorded: January 30, February 3 & 5, March 11, 1969, New York City
Label: Verve