Walter Wanderley – Moondreams (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Moondreams is an album by Brazilian keyboardist Walter Wanderley featuring performances recorded in 1969 and released on the CTI label.

“Wanderley’s second album during Creed Taylor’s A&M residency opens with a bang, a fantastic rendition of the old Northern Brazilian standard “Asa Branca” that evokes the exhilaration of a street carnival. Midway through, the tempo kicks up, the band settles into a two-chord vamp, and the performance lifts into orbit; even the normally mild-mannered Wanderley dances wildly on organ and electric harpsichord. Nothing else here, even the provocatively titled “Proton, Electron, Neutron,” approaches “Asa Branca”‘s energy. Yet on the whole, this is a somewhat better album than its predecessor on A&M; the sound is more open and less confined. The selection remains predominantly Brazilian, with an occasional American ringer like “Soulful Strut” and another Jimmy Webb tune, “5:30 Plane.” The female voices (one of whom is Flora Purim) return on a few tracks; so do Hubert Laws and Romeo Penque on flutes. Eumir Deodato is in charge of the mauve-colored charts for flutes, trumpets and violas, and Airto Moreira makes an early impression pumping up the percussion section.” – Richard S. Ginell.

Track listing:
Asa Branca” (Luiz Gonzaga) – 4:32
L’ Amore Dice Ciao” (Armando Trovajoli Giancarlo Guardagassi, Roger Greenaway) – 2:41
Penha” (Vicente Paiva) – 2:45
One of the Nicer Things” (Jimmy Webb) – 3:10
Proton, Electron, Neutron” (Marcos Valle, Paulo Sérgio Valle) – 2:47
5:30 Plane” (Webb) – 3:42
Soulful Strut” (Eugene Record, Sonny Sanders) – 3:06
Moondreams” (Egberto Gismonti) – 2:31
Jackie, All” (Eumir Deodato) – 3:33
Mirror of Love” (Deodato) – 2:44

Recorded at Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on December 11, 12 & 13, 1968

Walter Wanderley – organ, electronic harpsichord
Bernie Glow – trumpet, flugelhorn
Marvin Stamm – flugelhorn
Danny Bank, Hubert Laws, Romeo Penque, Jerome Richardson, Joe Soldo – flute
Jose Marino, Richard Davis, George Duvivier – bass
João Palma – drums
Lulu Ferreira, Airto Moreira – percussion
Flora Purim, Linda November, Stella Stevens, Susan Manchester – vocals
Harold Coletta, Richard Dickler, Theodore Israel, Archie Levin, David Mankovitz, Warren Tekula, Emanuel Vardi, Harry Zaratzian – viola
Eumir Deodato – arranger


Released: 1969
Recorded: March 11, 12 & 13, 1969
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 31:31
Label: A&M/CTI
SP 3022
Producer: Creed Taylor