The Lounge Lizards – Voice Of Chunk

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Voice of Chunk is a 1988 album by jazz band the Lounge Lizards.

“The Lizards, led by neo-saxman John Lurie, were best known for their outsider approach to bop. This is perhaps their best work, filled with humor and a solid melodic sensibility. Marc Ribot’s angular guitar and the complement of Evan Lurie’s piano make the disc a particular delight. Madhouse jazz for the unhinged.” – Tim Sheridan/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All tracks composed by John Lurie; except where indicated

“Bob the Bob”
“Voice of Chunk” (John Lurie, Erik Sanko)
“One Big Yes”
“The Hanging”
“Uncle Jerry” (John Lurie, Erik Sanko)
“A Paper Bag and the Sun” (John Lurie, Dougie Bowne, Marc Ribot)
“Tarantella” (music: Evan Lurie; lyrics: The Lounge Lizards)
“Bob the Bob Home”
“Travel” (Evan Lurie)

John Lurie – alto and soprano saxophone
Evan Lurie – piano
Marc Ribot – guitar, trumpet
Curtis Fowlkes – trombone
Roy Nathanson – alto and tenor saxophone
E.J. Rodriguez – percussion
Erik Sanko – bass
Dougie Bowne – drums


Released: 1988
Recorded: September–November 1988
Mediasound, New York City
Clinton Recording, New York City
Nas Nuvens, Rio de Janeiro
Length: 47:00
Label: Strange and Beautiful Music
Producer: John Lurie