John Zorn/The Dreamers – Pellucidar: A Dreamers Fantabula

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

A beautiful vinyl pressing of Zorns most delightful and popular instrumental unit The Dreamers performing nine compositions inspired by the imaginary worlds of fantasy literature. Featuring some of Zorns catchiest hooks and plenty of fiery solos from Ribot, Saft and Wollesen, Pellucidar blends soul, surf, jazz, minimalism, rumba, tango, samba, exotica and more in classic Dreamers style. Bathed in a fabulous gatefold jacket filled with colorful original art by Tzadiks exclusive designer Chippy, this long-awaited vinyl version of this modern exotica classic was lovingly remastered and is pressed on virgin vinyl.

Pellucidar: A Dreamers Fantabula is an album by John Zorn‘s group, The Dreamers, released in June 2015 on the Tzadik label.

Pellucidar is billed as the first new Dreamers album in four years, but given that the last album was tunes from Book Two of Masada and the one before that consisted of Christmas tunes, this is actually the first new material written specifically for this ensemble since 2009. It’s similar to both The Dreamers and O’o, but the playing of this group never gets old. Jamie Saft skips the piano this time out, sticking with Fender Rhodes, and the interplay with Kenny Wollesen’s vibes is magical. Marc Ribot has a few great solos, of course, but also contributes some interesting not-very-guitary comping. The rhythm section is equally amazing, with Trevor Dunn’s supple basslines and Ben Perowsky’s light touch on drums and excellent cymbal work. Cyro Baptista can always be counted on for perfect percussive accents. The tunes are mostly delightfully upbeat jazz-surf-exotica, with “Gormenghast” taking a slightly darker, Morricone-esque turn and “Jewels of Opar” a bit more insistent, with harder drumming from Perowsky and a ripping solo from Ribot. Pellucidar is another great offering from Zorn’s most accessible project. (Sean Westergaard/AllMusic,

Track listing:
All compositions by John Zorn

“Magic Carpet Ride” – 7:36
Gormenghast” – 8:29
“Queen of Ilium” – 5:19
Once Upon a Time” – 5:13
“Flight from Salem” – 4:20
“Pellucidar” – 3:35
“Atlantis” – 4:59
“A Perfume from Cleopolis” – 6:09
Jewels of Opar” – 6:10

Marc Ribot − guitars
Jamie Saft − keyboards
Kenny Wollesen − vibes
Trevor Dunn − bass
Joey Baron − drums
Cyro Baptista − percussion