Steps Ahead – Modern Times

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4½ stars and stated: “By 1984, Steps Ahead’s personnel had stabilized with original keyboardist Warren Bernhardt rejoining the group and teaming up with tenor saxophonist Michael Brecker, bassist Eddie Gomez, drummer Peter Erskine, and vibraphonist Mike Mainieri; guitarist Chuck Loeb guests on one selection, as does Tony Levin, who is heard on the Chapman stick. This outing is very electronic and does not quite reach the heights of Steps Ahead’s earlier Elektra album, but it certainly has plenty of spirit and power.”



Track listing:
A1 Safari 6:58
A2 Oops 6:20
A3 Self Portrait 6:02
A4 Modern Times 6:17
B1 Radio-Active 8:49
B2 Now You Know 6:25
B3 Old Town 6:19

Total Time: 47:33

Bass – Eddie Gomez
Drums, Percussion, Drums [Dmx] – Peter Erskine
Keyboards – Warren Bernhardt
Synthesizer [Additional] – Mike Brecker (tracks: A1), Michael Manieri (tracks: A2, A3, B3)
Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Michael Brecker
Vibraphone, Marimba, Synthesizer [Synthi-vibe] – Mike Mainieri
Guitar – Chuck Loeb (track B2)
Chapman Stick – Tony Levin (track B3)
Synthesizer – Craig Peyton (track B3)


Label: Elektra Musician – 7559-60351-2
Format: CD, Album, Repress
Country: Germany