Steps Ahead – Magnetic

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“The last Steps Ahead recording to feature Michael Brecker, this album finds the band exploring the use of electronic instruments and synthesis. Michael Brecker’s use of the Akai E.W.I. (electronic wind instrument) is astonishing.” – Paul Kohler/AllMusic.

Track listing:
A1 Trains 7:31
A2 Beirut 8:15
A3 Cajun 6:16
A4 In A Sentimental Mood 3:30
B1 Magnetic Love 5:33
B2 Sumo 5:50
B3 All The Tea In China 5:03
B4 Something I Said 4:23
B5 Reprise (Magnetic Love) 1:15

Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Guitar [Guitar Synthesizer] – Chuck Loeb
Bass – Victor Bailey
Drums [Acoustic, Electric], Percussion – Peter Erskine
Guitar – Hiram Bullock(track A1),Paul Jackson(track B1)
Synthesizer – Kenny Kirkland (track A1),Scott Martin (track B1),Mitchel Forman (track B3)
Saxophone [Steiner Ewi, Oberheim Xpander] – Michael Brecker
Vibraphone [Synthi-vibes], Keyboards, Synthesizer – Mike Mainieri
Banjo – Peter Schwimmer (track A3)
Backing Vocals(track B1) – Diva Gray, Janis Pendarvis, Jocelyn Brown
Lead Vocals – Dianne Reeves (track B1)
Synthesizer [Synclavier Sampling] – Andy Topeka (track B1)
Synthesizer, Synthesizer [Sequencing] – Phil Ashley (track B1)
Piano [Acoustic], Synthesizer – Warren Bernhardt (track B4)


Label: Elektra – 960 441-2
Format: CD, Album
Country: Germany
Released: 1986