Ray Brown – Something For Lester (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Something for Lester is an album by American jazz bassist Ray Brown recorded in 1977 and released on the Contemporary label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
This excellent trio session forms a sort of transition between bassist Ray Brown’s work with the Oscar Peterson Trio and his own small-group sessions of the ’80s and ’90s. With pianist Cedar Walton and drummer Elvin Jones, Brown explores seven strong melodies (four standards, two by Walton, and the bassist’s “Slippery”) in typically swinging and bluish fashion.

Track listing:
“Ojos de Rojo” (Cedar Walton) – 5:16
“Slippery” – 7:27
“Something in Common” (Walton) – 4:50
“Love Walked In” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 5:25
“Georgia on My Mind” (Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell) – 7:11
“Little Girl Blue” (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 6:17
“Sister Sadie” (Horace Silver) – 4:54

Ray Brown – bass
Cedar Walton – piano
Elvin Jones – drums


Released: 1978
Recorded: June 22, 23 & 24, 1977
Contemporary’s Studio in Los Angeles, California
Length: 41:10
Label: Contemporary
S 7640
Producer: John Koenig and Lester Koenig