Phineas Newborn – Please Send Me Someone To Love (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Please Send Me Someone to Love is an album by American jazz pianist Phineas Newborn Jr. recorded in 1969 and released on the Contemporary label.

“On two days in 1969, pianist Phineas Newborn recorded enough material for two albums (the other is titled Harlem Blues), which is fortunate because these were his only recordings of the 1965-73 period. Unfortunately, neither set has been reissued on CD yet. Newborn, who is joined by bassist Ray Brown and drummer Elvin Jones, performs a blues and bop set which includes such tunes as “Rough Ridin’,” “He’s a Real Gone Guy,” “Little Niles” and his own “Brentwood Blues.” The emphasis generally is on vintage tunes, and Newborn shows throughout that he was still very much in his musical prime.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Please Send Me Someone to Love” (Percy Mayfield) – 5:05
“Rough Ridin'” (Ella Fitzgerald, Hank Jones, Bill Tennyson) – 4:09
“Come Sunday” (Duke Ellington) – 4:52
“Brentwood Blues” (Phineas Newborn Jr.) – 8:01
“He’s a Real Gone Guy” (Nellie Lutcher) – 4:39
“Black Coffee” (Sonny Burke, Paul Francis Webster) – 7:03
“Little Niles” (Randy Weston) – 4:20
“Stay on It” (Count Basie, Tadd Dameron) – 5:05

Phineas Newborn Jr. – piano
Ray Brown – bass
Elvin Jones – drums


Released: 1969
Recorded: February 12 & 13, 1969
Contemporary Records Studio, Hollywood, CA
Label: Contemporary S7622
Producer: Lester Koenig