Oscar Pettiford & Friends – Blues In My Mind (1958)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Get ready for a journey back to the smoky jazz joints of 1958 Hamburg with Oscar Pettiford & Friends in “Blues In My Mind.” This live recording, the second chapter of Pettiford’s Hamburg chronicles, is a fine blend of modern mainstream, cool jazz, and hard bop, showcasing the virtuosity of Pettiford on bass. The ensemble features an all-star lineup with Jimmy Pratt on drums, Hans Koller on tenor saxophone, Dusko Goykovich on trumpet, Attila Zoller on guitar, Michel Hausser on vibraphone, Michel Hausser on trumpet, and Armin Rusch on piano.

Track listing:

01. Moanin’ [6:49]
02. Minor Meeting [4:34]
03. Are You Real? [3:44]
04. Tune Up [4:51]
05. Sometimes I`m Happy [4:46]
06. Long Ago And Far Away [5:12]
07. H.E.C. Blues [8:19]
08. Blues Around Joe [7:15]
09. How About You? [5:02]
10. Autumn Leaves [4:38]
11. Rue Dauphine [3:21]
12. Blues In My Mind [12:14]
13. After You`ve Gone [5:17]
14. Happy Afternoon [2:50]


Label: Sonorama
Format: CD, Album
Country: Germany
Released: 2015
Genre: Jazz