Oscar Pettiford – Basically Duke (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Basically Duke is an album by bassist/cellist and composer Oscar Pettiford which was recorded in 1954 and first issued on the Bethlehem label as a 10-inch LP.

Track listing:
All compositions by Oscar Pettiford except where noted.

“Jack the Bear” (Duke Ellington) – 3:15
“Tamalpais” – 3:33
“Swing Until the Girls Come Home” – 3:54
“Mood Indigo” (Ellington, Barney Bigard, Irving Mills) – 2:56
“Chuckles” (Clark Terry) – 2:42
“Time on My Hands” (Vincent Youmans, Harold Adamson, Mack Gordon) – 3:10

Oscar Pettiford – bass, cello
Clark Terry, Joe Wilder – trumpet
Jimmy Cleveland – trombone
Jimmy Hamilton – clarinet, tenor saxophone
Dave Schildkraut – alto saxophone
Danny Bank – baritone saxophone
Earl Knight – piano
Osie Johnson – drums


Released: 1954
Recorded: December 17, 1954
New York City
Label: Bethlehem
BCP 1019