Oscar Peterson – Tenderly (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Although there are numerous recordings featuring the Oscar Peterson Trio (with bassist Ray Brown and guitarist Herb Ellis), the discovery of another previously unreleased date such as this one is welcome news to his fans. This concert, recorded in the summer of 1958 at the Orpheum Theater in Vancouver, Canada, finds the group in top form, beginning with the simmering treatment of “Alone Together.” In addition to other familiar favorites (such as a gallop through “The Surrey With the Fringe on Top” and a pristine take of “My Funny Valentine”), the trio delves into rarely heard original material, including Peterson’s lovely “Music Box Suite” (also known as “Daisy’s Dream”) and a pair of works by Ellis, the wide-ranging solo feature called “Patricia” and “Pogo,” a turbocharged bop line focusing on Ellis and Brown, with a deliberately delayed entrance by the leader. The consistent high quality of the performances and the opportunity to hear less well-known songs make this CD an essential purchase for fans of Oscar Peterson (AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden).

Track listing:
A1 Alone Together (Howard Dietz/Arthur Schwartz) – 6:25
A2 How About You (Burton Lane, Ralph Freed) – 5:07
A3 The Surrey With The Fringe On Top (Rodgers & Hammerstein) – 4:35
B1 The Music Box Suite AKA Daisy’s Dream (Oscar Peterson) – 11:49
B2 A Foggy Day (George & Ira Gershwin) – 6:20
C1 The Gypsy In My Soul (Moe Jaffe, Ted Boland) – 6:20
C2 My Funny Valentine (Lorenze Hart-Richard Rogers) – 5:35
D1 Patricia (Herb Ellis) – 5:14
D2 Pogo (Herb Ellis) – 5:39
D3 Tenderly (Jack Lawrence, Walter Gross) – 4:17


  • Oscar Peterson – piano
  • Ray Brown – bass
  • Herb Ellis – guitar


Recorded in the summer of 1958 at the Orpheum Theater in Vancouver.