Oscar Peterson Trio – Night Train

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Night Train is an album by the Oscar Peterson Trio, released in 1963 by Verve Records.

The album was dedicated to Peterson’s father, who worked as a sleeping-car attendant for Canadian Pacific Railways.

The Penguin Guide to Jazz included it in its core collection, calling it “one of the best-constructed long-players of the period” and saying that Peterson’s playing is “tight and uncharacteristically emotional”.

In 2019, the album was named as the jury winner of the Polaris Heritage Prize.

Track listing:
Side one
1. “Night Train” Jimmy Forrest, Lewis P. Simpkins, Oscar Washington 4:52
2. “C Jam Blues” Barney Bigard, Duke Ellington 3:26
3. “Georgia on My Mind” Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell 3:46
4. “Bags’ Groove” Milt Jackson 5:43
5. “Moten Swing” Bennie Moten 2:55
6. “Easy Does It” Sy Oliver, Trummy Young 2:45
Side two
7. “Honey Dripper” Joe Liggins 2:24
8. “Things Ain’t What They Used to Be” Mercer Ellington, Ted Persons 4:38
9. “I Got It Bad (and That Ain’t Good)” Duke Ellington, Paul Francis Webster 5:08
10. “Band Call” Duke Ellington 3:55
11. “Hymn to Freedom” Oscar Peterson 5:38

Oscar Peterson – piano
Ray Brown – double bass
Ed Thigpen – drums


Released: 1963
Recorded: December 15 & 16, 1962
Venue Los Angeles, California
Length: 44:08 (original release) 67:40 (1997 CD re-release)
Label: Verve
Producer: Norman Granz