Nina Simone – Little Girl Blue

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Little Girl Blue: Jazz as Played in an Exclusive Side Street Club is the debut studio album by Nina Simone. Recorded in late 1957, it was eventually released by Bethlehem Records in February 1959.

Track listing:
Fourteen tracks were recorded at the December 1957 session for the album, of which eleven of the songs were included in the release of Little Girl Blue in February 1959.

1. “Mood Indigo” Duke Ellington, Barney Bigard, Irving Mills 4:04
2. “Don’t Smoke in Bed” Willard Robison 3:14
3. “He Needs Me” Arthur Hamilton 2:31
4. “Little Girl Blue” Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart 4:19
5. “Love Me or Leave Me” Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn 3:24
6. “My Baby Just Cares for Me” Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn 3:38
7. “Good Bait (instrumental)” Count Basie, Tadd Dameron 5:28
8. “Plain Gold Ring” George Stone (aka Earl Burroughs) 3:57
9. “You’ll Never Walk Alone (instrumental)” Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II 3:49
10. “I Loves You, Porgy” DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin 4:12
11. “Central Park Blues (instrumental)” Nina Simone 6:52

Nina Simone – vocals, piano, arrangements
Jimmy Bond – double bass
Albert “Tootie” Heath – drums


Released: February 1959
Recorded: Late 1957
Studio: Beltone, New York City
Length 41:24
Label Bethlehem