Louis Smith – Smithville (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Smithville is the second album by American trumpeter Louis Smith recorded in 1958. It was Smith’s final album released by Blue Note label.

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine:
Like his debut, Smithville is another set of thoroughly winning straight-ahead bop from the underappreciated trumpeter Louis Smith. Stylistically, there are no surprises here — this is mainstream bop and hard bop, comprised of original and contemporary bop numbers, as well as standards (“There’ll Never Be Another You,” “Embraceable You”) — but since the music is performed so well, it doesn’t matter. There is genuine passion to this music, not only from Smith, but also from pianist Sonny Clark, tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Art Taylor. It’s a first-rate hard bop set that deserves wider distribution than it has received (https://goo.gl/HHkuuB).

Track listing:
All compositions by Louis Smith except where noted.

“Smithville” – 11:04
“Wetu” – 9:00
“Embraceable You” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 7:06
“There Will Never Be Another You” (Harry Warren, Mack Gordon) – 5:33
“Later” – 6:26

Louis Smith – trumpet
Charlie Rouse – tenor saxophone
Sonny Clark – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Art Taylor – drums


Released: 1958
Recorded: March 30, 1958
Studio Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey
Length: 39:09 original LP
Label: Blue Note