Lionel Hampton – Stop! I Don’t Need No Sympathy!

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


An excellent album of tight little instrumentals – one that features the combination of Lionel Hampton’s vibes with the groovy Chicago soul production of Brunswick Records! The tracks bounce along nicely, as if they were soul instrumental 45s for Brunswick – almost more along the line of the label’s work with Young Holt Unlimited, but with vibes instead of piano — and Hampton maybe sounds better here than he had in years on previous recordings! The approach is very hip — a great blend of soul, jazz, and funk — and titles include “Stop, I Don’t Need No Sympathy”, “I Wish It Was Me”, “It’s Time For Peace”, “You Wouldn’t Believe”, and “Turn Back The Hands Of Time” (Dusty Groove).

Track listing:

A1 – 0:00 – Stop, I Don’t Need No Sympathy [Written by Carl Davis, William Sanders]
A2 – 3:12 – You Wouldn’t Believe [Written by Carl Davis, Richard Parker]
A3 – 6:24 – I Wake Up Crying [Written by B. Bacharach-H. David]
A4 – 10:07 – Where Were You When I Needed You [Written by Stevie Wonder]
A5 – 13:59 – Turn Back The Hands Of Time [Written by Jack Daniels, Johnny Moore]
B1 – 16:54 – Stop, Look & Listen/To Your Heart [Written by Linda Creed, Tom Bell]
B2 – 20:22 – This Must Be The Place For Love [Written by Clifford Davis]
B3 – 24:10 – Where The Lillies Grow [Written by Canute Scott, Carl Davis, Clifford Davis]
B4 – 28:07 – It’s Time For Peace [Written by Andrea Bohannon, Hamilton Bohannon]
B5 – 30:34 – I Wish It Was Me [Written by Leo Graham]


Lionel Hampton – vibraphone, bandleader


Label: Brunswick – 9210-754203
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Canada
Released: 1974
Genre: Jazz, Funk / Soul
Style: Soul-Jazz, Jazz-Funk, Easy Listening