Lee Morgan – The Gigolo

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Gigolo is an album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan released on the Blue Note label in 1968. It was recorded on June 25 & July 1, 1965 and features performances by Morgan with a quintet featuring Wayne Shorter, Harold Mabern, Bob Cranshaw and Billy Higgins.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4½ stars stating “There are no weak selections on this set and the playing by the leader, Wayne Shorter on tenor, pianist Harold Mabern, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Billy Higgins is beyond any serious criticism.”



Track listing:
All compositions by Lee Morgan except where noted

“Yes I Can, No You Can’t” – 7:26
“Trapped” (Wayne Shorter) – 5:59
“Speedball” – 5:32
“The Gigolo” – 11:07
“You Go to My Head” (J. Fred Coots, Haven Gillespie) – 7:22
“The Gigolo” [Alternate Take] – 10:04 Bonus track on CD

Lee Morgan – trumpet
Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone
Harold Mabern – piano
Bob Cranshaw – bass
Billy Higgins – drums


Released: Early June 1968
Recorded: June 25 & July 1, 1965
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length 37:30 original LP
Label: Blue Note
BST 84212
Producer: Alfred Lion