Lee Morgan – The Cooker

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Cooker is an album by American jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan recorded on September 29, 1957, and released on Blue Note in January 1958. The quintet features saxophonist Pepper Adams and rhythm section Bobby Timmons, Paul Chambers and Philly Joe Jones.

The AllMusic review by Scott Yanow states, “Morgan plays remarkably well for his age (already ranking just below Dizzy Gillespie and Miles Davis), making this an essential acquisition.”

Track listing:
Side 1
1. “A Night in Tunisia”
Dizzy GillespieFrank Paparelli
2. “Heavy Dipper” Morgan 7:05
Side 2
1. “Just One of Those Things” Cole Porter 7:18
2. “Lover Man”
Jimmy DavisRam RamirezSherman
3. “New-Ma” Morgan 8:14
CD bonus track
6. “Just One of Those Things” (alternate take) Porter 7:50

Lee Morgan – trumpet
Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone
Bobby Timmons – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Philly Joe Jones – drums


Released: January 1958
Recorded: September 29, 1957
Studio: Van Gelder Studio
Hackensack, NJ
Length: 38:51
Label: Blue Note
BLP 1578
Producer: Alfred Lion