Lee Morgan – Expoobident (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Expoobident is an album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan originally released on the Vee-Jay label. It was recorded on October 14, 1960 and features performances by Morgan with Clifford Jordan, Eddie Higgins, Art Davis and Art Blakey.

“Recorded early in the trumpeter’s career, this fine release originally issued by Vee-Jay Records has been given new life over the years through at least a couple of reissues. This one includes four previously released alternate takes from the seven tracks, each of which features a strong hard bop quintet, with Art Blakey on drums, Eddie Higgins on piano, Art Davis on bass, and Clifford Jordan on tenor saxophone. The set is a tad more laid-back than the later classic Blue Note sessions. Nonetheless, this one offers its rewards, including a rare chance to hear Eddie Higgins in full force, a late of Blakey as a sideman, and a stunning front line with unsung giant Clifford Jordan. Morgan is in good form, swinging and blowing passionately, and his interpretations of “Easy Living” and “Just in Time” are among his best. This release retains the original liner notes by Nat Hentoff, as well as the attractive artwork of the initial issue.” – Steve Loewy/AllMusic.

Track listing:
Expoobident” (Higgins) – 5:01
Easy Living” (Rainger, Robin) – 5:57
Triple Track” (Morgan) – 5:00
Fire” (Shorter) – 4:51
Just in Time” (Styne, Comden, Green) – 3:32
The Hearing” (Jordan) – 3:36
Lost and Found” (Jordan) – 3:35

Bonus tracks on CD reissue:

Expoobident” [Alternate take] – 5:06
“Triple Track [Alternate take] – 5:12
Fire” [Alternate take] – 5:07
Just in Time” [Alternate take] – 5:46

Lee Morgan – trumpet
Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone
Eddie Higgins – piano
Art Davis – bass
Art Blakey – drums


Released: Mid August 1961
Recorded: October 14, 1960
Universal Recorders, Chicago
Length: 31:32 original LP
Label: Vee-Jay
VJLP 3015
Producer: Sid McCoy