Lee Morgan – Caramba!

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


¡Caramba! is an album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan, released on the Blue Note label in 1968. It features performances by Morgan, Bennie Maupin, Cedar Walton, Reggie Workman and Billy Higgins with arrangements by Cal Massey.

“Until its 1996 reissue, this was one of the most obscure of all Lee Morgan Blue Note albums. A transitional effort that finds the trumpeter gradually moving beyond hard bop into more modal music, the date starts out with the surprisingly derivative title cut which is very similar to Eddie Harris’ “Listen Here.” Of the other selections, “Soulita” has the catchiest melody while Cal Massey’s slow ballad “A Baby’s Smile” was previously unreleased. While Morgan and his fine rhythm section (pianist Cedar Walton, bassist Reggie Workman and drummer Billy Higgins) are in typically swinging form, Caramba is most notable for featuring the young Bennie Maupin. Sticking exclusively to tenor, Maupin (who would be much more distinctive within a year) mixes together Joe Henderson and Wayne Shorter in winning fashion. Although not essential, this CD is a welcome reissue.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Lee Morgan 

Caramba” – 12:24
Suicide City” – 7:32
Cunning Lee” – 6:13
Soulita” – 6:03
Helen’s Ritual” – 6:29

Lee Morgan – trumpet
Bennie Maupin – tenor saxophone
Cedar Walton – piano
Reggie Workman – bass
Billy Higgins – drums
Cal Massey – arranger


Released: Mid December 1968
Recorded: May 3, 1968
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 38:41 original LP
Label: Blue Note
BST 84289
Producer: Francis Wolff