Larry Willis – A New Kind Of Soul (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


A New Kind of Soul is the debut album by American jazz pianist Larry Willis recorded in 1970 and originally released on the LLP label before being reissued US on Brunswick Records in 1972.

“More funky. With viable jazz horn sound for support. Easy to like. ” – Michael G. Nastos/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Lickin’ Stick” (Alfred Ellis, Bobby Byrd, James Brown) – 3:12
“Someday Soon” (Larry Willis) – 4:47
“Funky Judge” (Andre Williams, Leo Hutton) – 4:25
“Mayibuye” (Christopher Songxaka, Miriam Makeba) – 3:20
“Consola Coa” (Baden Powell) – 5:37
“Walking Backward Down the Road” (Burt Bacharach, Hal David) – 4:59
“Holiday in Barbados” (Willis) – 2:57
“Hard to Handle” (Otis Redding) – 2:54

Larry Willis – piano, arranger
Jimmy Owens, Joe Newman, Marvin Stamm – flugelhorn
Al Gafa – guitar, electric guitar
George Mraz – bass
Al Foster – drums


Released: 1970
Recorded: 1970
Studio Bell Studios, NY
Label: LLP
LLP 1001
Producer: Lenny Lewis