Larry Coryell – Barefoot Boy

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Produced by Bob Thiele and recorded at Electric Lady studios with engineer Eddie Kramer, Barefoot Boy is one of Larry Coryell’s finest recordings as a leader. … This recording is a noteworthy example of the possibilities inherent in the early days of fusion, blending the electrifying energy of rock with the improvisational excitement of jazz.” – Jim Newsom/AllMusic.

Track listing:
1. “Gypsy Queen” (Gábor Szabó) 11:50
2. “The Great Escape” (Coryell) 8:39
3. “Call to the Higher Consciousness” (Coryell) 20:00

Larry Coryell – guitar
Steve Marcus – soprano saxophone (1, 2), tenor saxophone (3)
Mike Mandel – piano (3)
Mervin Bronson – bass (2, 3)
Roy Haynes – drums
Lawrence Killian – conga
Harry Wilkinson – percussion


Released: 1971
Studio: Electric Lady Studios, New York
Length: 40:35
Label: Flying Dutchman
Producer: Bob Thiele