John Coltrane – Afro Blue Impressions (LP1)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Afro Blue Impressions is an album by American jazz saxophonist John Coltrane recorded live in 1963 and released on the Pablo label in 1977 as a double LP.

“Afro Blue Impressions is the sound of one of the greatest – albeit short-lived – quartets in jazz history completely coming into its own in concert”, – Thom Jurek, AllMusic.

Track listing

“Lonnie’s Lament” (John Coltrane) — 10:16
“Naima” (John Coltrane) — 8:06
“Chasin’ the Trane” (John Coltrane) — 5:48
“My Favorite Things” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers) — 21:10

John Coltrane — tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
McCoy Tyner — piano
Jimmy Garrison — double bass
Elvin Jones — drums


Released: May/June 1977
Recorded: October 22, 1963
Label: Pablo Records
Producer: Norman Granz