Jimmy McGriff – A Thing To Come By

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


A Thing to Come By is an album by American jazz organist Jimmy McGriff featuring performances recorded in 1969 and originally released on the Solid State label.

The Allmusic review by Stephen Cook awarded the album 4½ stars and stated “A Thing to Come By is an essential part of the Jimmy McGriff catalog”.

Track listing:
All compositions by Jimmy McGriff except as indicated

“A Thing to Come By” – 3:55
“Charlotte” – 4:30
“Down Home on the Moon” – 10:02
“Oh Happy Day” (Edwin Hawkins) – 3:13
“Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream” (Aretha Franklin, Teddy White) – 5:20
“Up There, Down Here” – 3:00
“A Thing to Come By – Part II – 4:47

Jimmy McGriff – piano, organ
Richard “Blue” Mitchell – trumpet
Arthur “Fats” Theus – tenor saxophone
Larry Frazier – guitar
Danny Turner – alto saxophone
Jesse Kilpatrick – drums
[mostly told: Phil Upchurch] – electric bass
Unknown – [?] baritone saxophone


Released: 1969
Recorded: June 17 & 18, 1969 in New York City
Label: Solid State SS-18060
Producer: Sonny Lester