Jimmy McGriff – Countdown (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Countdown is an album by organist Jimmy McGriff recorded in 1983 and released on the Milestone label.

“Jimmy McGriff’s Milestone debut, which has been reissued on CD, features the soulful organist heading a group of lesser-known players — including three horns and the fine guitarist Melvin Sparks — and doing his best to emulate the sound of a big band. The material (“I’m Walkin’,” a couple of Frank Foster numbers including “Shiny Stockings,” Benny Green’s “Blow Your Horn,” “Since I Fell for You” and a McGriff original) is strong and inspires the musicians to play funky, grease-filled solos. Few surprises occur, but the music is quite enjoyable and easily recommended to fans of this genre.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“I’m Walkin'” (Fats Domino, Dave Bartholomew) – 6:59
“Holly” (Jimmy McGriff) – 5:15
“Down for the Count” (Frank Foster) – 4:07
“Blow Your Horn” (Benny Green) – 4:08
“Since I Fell for You” (Buddy Johnson) – 4:59
“Shiny Stockings” (Foster) – 8:14

Jimmy McGriff – organ
Clifford Adams Jr. – trombone
Marshall Keys – alto saxophone
Arnold Sterling – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone
Melvin Sparks – guitar
Vance James − drums


Released: 1983
Recorded: April 27 and 28, 1983
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englwood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 33:21
Label: Milestone
Producer: Bob Porter