Jacques Loussier Trio – Handel (Water Music & Royal Fireworks)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Jacques Loussier Trio – Handel (Water Music & Royal Fireworks)

The Jacques Loussier Trio was a French Third Stream jazz piano trio, led by pianist Jacques Loussier, that became known for its jazz interpretations of European classical music. They were commonly known in France as “le trio Play Bach” after the title of their first LPs.

The trio was formed in 1959 by Loussier, bass player Pierre Michelot, and percussionist Christian Garros. They reworked mostly Baroque music, in particular that by Johann Sebastian Bach, but also by Vivaldi and other composers, to fit their own style and instruments.

The group was commercially successful but less popular with critics and jazz purists. They toured Germany in 1966.

In 1985, Loussier formed a new trio with percussionist André Arpino, and double-bassist Vincent Charbonnier. In 1997 the latter role was taken over by Benoît Dunoyer de Segonzac.

Track listing:


1 Grave 1:35
2 Allegro I 2:41
3 Adagio 5:08
4 Allegro II 4:57
5 Andante 4:28
6 Bourrée 1:41
7 Alla Danza 4:11
8 Aria 4:47
9 Trio 4:30


10 Grave 3:17
11 Allegro 4:16
12 Siciliana 4:45
13 Allegro II 2:23

14 Passacaglia 5:03

Benoit Dunoyer de Segonzac – bass
André Arpino – drums
Jacques Loussier – piano


Label: Telarc ‎– CD-83544
Format: CD, Album
Released: 2002